A DUI Attorney Can Help You Navigate Texas Drunk Driving Laws

DUI Attorney | Estate Attorney

DUI AttorneyIn Texas a DUI Attorney can help you after you have been arrested for Driving Under the Influence.  It is imperative that you seek out the assistance of a lawyer immediately. Texas is one of the many states in America that takes driving under the influence very seriously, and there are stiff penalties to pay for those that are not properly represented and are caught driving intoxicated. Not having a good attorney to represent your best interests is the surest way to have the full fury of the law brought down on yourself.

Under Texas state law, a DUI carries a series of mandatory punishments that include and are not limited to the loss of your license and driving privileges, a monetary fine, and possible jail time.

 Texas is also one of the few states that not only imposes harsh punishments in court, but also exposes you to even further penalties down the road. Trying to navigate through the minefield of laws, when the system is designed to punish those who may have made a simple mistake is not a wise course of action and it is always advisable to get a lawyer involved as soon as possible.

Getting a DUI attorney to represent you might help you reduce the fine, the jail time, and prevent a license suspension. Typically, for first-time offenders, the punishment for being convicted of driving under the influence is a $2000 fine, up to 12 month license suspension, and between 72 hours and 180 days in jail. As you can see the sentencing has a lot of leeway which allows for the judge to make a determination based on the merits of the case, your record, and most importantly your representation. Since these are the punishment ranges for first time offenders, they only get steeper if you have more than one incident.

Under state law, a second DUI conviction within 10 years of the first conviction exposes you to much harsher penalties. These include mandatory jail time, which means you will spend time behind bars if you are convicted of a second DUI within 10 years of being convicted of the first DUI. Having a DUI attorney from day one will help to get the sentence reduced, though not getting convicted in the first place is the best way to proceed. In addition to the mandatory jail time for second time DUI offenders, Texas also carries a fine of $4,000 along with a suspension of your driver’s license for up to 24 months. Additionally, the law requires that you have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. This device effectively prevents you from driving until you have successfully passed a Breathalyzer test.

A third DUI conviction carries a $10,000 conviction, jail time of between two and ten years, and a two-year license suspension. Sentencing will be harsh and swift for third-time offenders. A DUI attorney can help you navigate the Texas drunk driving laws and will work hard to ensure that you are not convicted or that the charges are reduced. This allows you to go one with life without facing the harsh penalties that are often imposed by the court.

  >    >  DUI Attorney

The Taylor Law Firm, PLLC located in Henderson, TX. Our website has additional information about the following topics: